Whole Earth Discipline

“Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish”
– Stewart Brand –

When I was a boy, I silently endured the endless garage sales my mother perused with great ardor.  I hated them until the day I discovered an oversized tome titled The Whole Earth Catalog.  It was the brain child of Stewart Brand, and I read it until it fell apart.  Thus began an intellectual bromance that endures until this very day.  Later on in life, I made a regular pilgrimage (an hour plus drive) to the nearest bookstore that carried his delightful but unfortunately now defunct journal Co-Evolution Quarterly.  In light of my confession, imagine my delight when I discovered Whole Earth Discipline: an Ecopragmatist Manifesto.  Mr. Brand’s analysis of the romantic roots of environmentalism, support of genetically altered crops, and pro nuclear power stance are interesting to say the least.  Whether or not he’s “right” about these matters, he makes an incredibly compelling case.  What will you think?  I’ve read this one over and over.  I urge you to do the same.  Still not convinced?  The video above serves up an introduction to the books contents.  Let me know what you think.

crandall logo high res B&W

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

